Just another WordPress.com site

On this Wednesday of the Holy Week, I continue my journey through Scott Hahn’s book, Lenten Reflections from A Father Who Keeps His Promises.

Scott Hahn continues his teasing glimpse into the Last Supper as it parallels the Seder Meal at Passover.  According to Scott, Jesus’ Last Supper was essentially an interrupted Seder Meal.  While traditional Seder has four cups of wine, the Last Supper ends with the third, the Cup of Blessing.

It would be like having a wedding but stopping short of the vows!  Or, as Scott writes, celebrating Mass but stopping short of consecrating the host!

But Scott explains that the fourth cup is the cup Christ asks to avoid in Gethsemane:

He advanced a little and fell prostrate in prayer, saying, “My Father, if it is possible, let this cup pass from me; yet, not as I will, but as you will.”  Matt. 26:39.

This is the cup of wrath, “a metaphor for destruction that occurs often in the Old Testament.”  In contemplating this cup, Jesus’ “soul is sorrowful even to death” and three times He asks the Father to spare Him from drinking of this cup.  Yet each time, even though He was sweating blood, He acknowledged the Father’s lordship over Him:

“Not my will but yours be done.”  Luke 22:42.

Jesus knew the terrible cup He must drink from, and yet, despite His agony, He surrendered to the Father’s will.

How do I live as Christ?  Do I seek to do His will or do I opt for my own?  Do I follow Mary’s example:

“Behold, I am the handmaid of the Lord. May it be done to me according to your word.”  Luke 1:38.

Day 43-2

My prayer today is that I seek His will for me and my family.  “As for me and my household, we will serve the LORD.”  Joshua 24:15.

Day 43-1

Comments on: "The Paschal Mystery Fulfilled" (1)

  1. […] of Holy Week.  The Paschal Mystery Fulfilled.  Jesus knows the cup of wrath which He must drink to save the world, yet He asks for God’s […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

