Just another WordPress.com site

Son of Promise

On this Monday of the Fifth Week of Lent, I continue my journey through Scott Hahn’s book, Lenten Reflections from A Father Who Keeps His Promises.

In David’s youth, he seemed to have direct access to God.  David asks God if he should attack the Philistines at Keilah and the Lord answers.  1 Sm. 23:2.  David asks God if Saul will betray David in Keilah, and again the Lord answers him.  1 Sm. 23:10.  David asks God if he should pursue the raiders who destroyed Ziklang, and God answers him.  1 Sm. 30:8.  When David asks God where he should go after Saul’s death, the Lord tells him to go to Hebron.  2 Sm. 2:1.  David asks God if he should attach the Philistines at Rephaim, and even asks how he should attack.  And God answers.  2 Sm. 5:18-25.

But eventually this direct line of communication seems to dry up and the Lord begins communicating with David through prophets.

When David contemplates building a house for God, the Lord sends Nathan as His mouthpiece.  And David listens.  Is this what is meant when David is described as being after God’s own heart?  Acts 13:22.  Is it because David can hear the voice of God in any medium God uses?

I’ve heard people talking about how God told them something.  Maybe He told them to do something.  Or not to do something.  Or to be patient.  Or be “not afraid.”  I don’t remember ever have such direct communications with God.  Sure, I pray and I am confident He listens and answers.  But I don’t ever recall a burning bush experience, a finger drawing on the wall, or a voice in the night.

Instead, it seems God speaks to me through the circumstances I find myself in.  He speaks through the scale that tells me I have a few extra pounds and need to adjust my eating habits.

Mostly, God speaks to me through the people He blesses my life with.

God speaks through my son when he tells me and my wife, “stop arguing!”

God speaks through my wife when she reminds me to drive safely.

And God speaks through my dad when he tells to get back into running.

How do receive God’s messages and little nudges?  I know I can be very resistant.  I blame my pride.  It’s not so much that I’m expecting God to “tell it to my face.”  In fact, I’m afraid He might!

It’s more that either I don’t think the message is meant for me (“I AM driving safely!”) or I didn’t get the right messenger (“you’re no better a driver than I am!”)

So I now pray that I listen more closely to God, no matter how He tells me or whom He chooses to deliver the message.

Day 34-1

I ask God for the humility to accept His corrections no matter He uses to deliver the message.  He has blessed me abundantly and I know will bless me many-fold again if I only listen to His call.

Day 34-2

Comments on: "Son of Promise" (1)

  1. […]  Son of Promise.  God spoke to David directly at first, and then through prophets.  Who does God send to […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

