Just another WordPress.com site

Jesus, the New Adam

On this Thursday of the First Week of Lent, I continue my journey through Scott Hahn’s book, Lenten Reflections from A Father Who Keeps His Promises.

Today’s reading was a tough one to digest and blog about.  It offers two different models for the Husband-Wife relationship.  Adam-Eve, the First Couple who ultimately brought sin into the world; and Christ-Church, the ideal of a loving relationship.

Of the two Husband models, I am far more similar to Adam.  In fact, had it been me in the Garden of Eden, I would not have hesitated to eat the forbidden fruit.  I am sure my chin would have been covered with fruit juice and my first realization of my nudity would have been when I found that I didn’t have sleeves to wipe off my face.

I am like Adam in another way.  Like Adam, I tend to be less engaged than I should be in the household affairs.  This is particularly true when it comes to leading my family in faith.  Like Adam who seems to be the silent observer during Eve’s negotiations with the serpent, I have been more permissive and less engaged when it comes to certain worldly matters in our home, like video games and movies.  Frankly, it’s easier to be lax in these areas, particularly since—I have to admit—I share my sons’ weakness for the same genres.  (Maybe they get it from me?  Nah!)

Blessedly, we have a better model to follow.  Christ loved us so much that He gave His life to atone for Adam and Eve’s failure.  And He gave us the Church, His bride, through which we can draw closer to him.
Day 09-1 I need to remember the blessings I get through Christ’s bride.  And not just on the weekend when I prepare for Mass.   Day 09-2

 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

