Just another WordPress.com site

From Chaos to Cosmos

On this First Sunday of Lent, I continue my journey through Scott Hahn’s book, Lenten Reflections from A Father Who Keeps His Promises.

This week the book focuses on the Creation Story. The first day’s reading looks at the fact of God’s creative power. It is an awesome reminder of our relationship with God and our proper place as his creation. He is creator. We are created.

I find this concept to be very comforting.  One of my favorite Psalms, Ps. 46:11, echoes this:

“Be still and know that I am God!”

Or, to paraphrase:

“Chill!  Trust me!  I made you, and everything around you. I got it under control!”

This is especially comforting when I find my life spinning out of control.  The Psalm reminds me that I am not God. That the whole of the world does not rest on my shoulders.  That I am not responsible for the order of the universe, or even my neighborhood.  I don’t have to take care of anything beyond my control, beyond my little fiefdom.  And even within the confines of my reach He has control and I can lean on Him.

The problem is that I don’t just rest on this comforting knowledge.  Once I feel my life is back in control, that all is well, then I turn to God and say, “thanks, Father.  I got it from here.”  I try to take back the reins and the cycle begins again down into to chaos.

This is the world’s preference, the glorification of Rugged Individualism.  Buck up!  Tough it out! So I ask myself,

Day 05-1a

I have come to realize that I only find peace through surrender to my Creator.

Day 05-2

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

