Just another WordPress.com site

Temporal Loss—Eternal Gain

On this Friday After Ash Wednesday, I continue my journey through Scott Hahn’s book, Lenten Reflections from A Father Who Keeps His Promises.

I have to admit that I had some difficulty following along in today’s reading.  There are some apparent non-sequiturs, but I think the overall gist is this:  sure, there are a lot of positives in this world, but compared to the Heavenly promises Christ offers through His sacrifice, these are naught and we are called to make relatively small sacrifices (giving up worldly joys) compared to the gain we will have when we join Him in the afterlife.

Paul said, “[But] whatever gains I had, these I have come to consider a loss because of Christ.”  Phil. 3:7.  With this in mind, I can see that this Lent would be the perfect time for a sort of Spring Cleaning:

Day 03-1

There is a lot of clutter in my life, little things I want to cling to that keep me from drawing closer to God.  For example, I cling to the irritation and self-righteousness I feel against another motorist who cuts me off.  I cling to hurt feelings when someone says something I don’t like.  I cling to false gods, like TV shows and images that don’t advance Christian values, or materialistic desires, or jealousies of those who “have it better”.  All these things clutter my life and dilute the glue that is meant to adhere me to God’s loving graces.  Or, to throw in another metaphor (why not?) they form a grimy coating on my lenses that make it more difficult to focus on Christ, to keep my “eyes on the prize.”  So, with this in mind I pray:

Day 03-2

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

