Just another WordPress.com site

God’s Unfailing Love

Ash Wednesday.  Today I begin my journey through Scott Hahn’s book of daily reflections for Lent, Lenten Reflections from A Father Who Keeps His Promises.  I have to admit that I was eager when I first decided to blog this effort, but once I started reading the book, I felt reticent.  What have I gotten myself into?  Will I have to . . . share?!  Be honest and open?!  Well, I will try to, but please be gentle as you read.

The first day is really an introduction to the whole book.  It asks us to reflect:

Day 01-1

As a father of four beautiful children ranging in age from 14 to 21, I know that I have not been the ideal father.  I can look back at attitudes I have held, things I have said, and choices I’ve made, and I recognize immaturity and selfishness.  Sometimes my prayers focus on the hope that my kids aren’t damaged by my failings.  Having said that, I know that I have grown, too.  And I know that my earthly Dad has also experienced growth and maturation as father and husband.  This recognition has helped shape my understanding of God as Father.  It’s not that God needs to grow or has a maturation process.  He’s infinite!  But the same nurturing that my Dad has developed as he grows has helped me to grow.  This nurturing and growth, I think, is from God the Father.

And the fact that I’ve been given this chance to grow is one reflection of God’s unfailing love for me.

Day 01-2

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

